BJP Unveils 1st List For Chhatisgarh, Mizoram & Telangana Assembly Polls

| October 21 , 2018 , 12:32 IST

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) released its first list of candidates for the Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram Assembly polls on Saturday. Names of 77 candidates for Chhattisgarh, 38 for Telangana and 13 for Mizoram were announced.

According to media reports, Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh will contest from the Rajnandgaon seat.

Among the 77 candidates announced out of a total of 90 Assembly seats in Chhattisgarh, 14 are women candidates and 14 sitting MLAs have been replaced with new names.

Among those fielded by the BJP include former IAS officer O.P. Chaudhary and tribal leader Ramdayal Uike, who recently left the Congress to join the party.

Chaudhary, the former Collector of Raipur, will be fielded from Kharsia constituency, while newly joined Uike will contest from Pali Tanakhar (ST) seat.

The BJP also named Ama Agarwal from Bilaspur, Brij Mohan Agrawal from Raipur City (South) seats.

Nadda while addressing a press meet after the CEC meet said that BJP will also contest the Mizoram Assembly elections on 13 seats. The party also released the list of 38 candidate for the upcoming Telangana Assembly polls.

While addressing the press conference Nadda said, "The party has considered the aspirations of our dedicated workers in Telangana region. Adequate representation has been given to the representatives of all communities.”

Elections in Chhattisgarh are scheduled in two phases -- on November 12 and November 20, while the polling in Mizoram and Telangana will take place on November 28 and December 7, respectively.

(With IANS Inputs)