BJP State Head Biplab Kumar Deb To Be Tripura Chief Minister, Jishnu Debbarma Deputy CM

| March 6 , 2018 , 14:04 IST

State president of the BJP in Tripura Biplab Kumar Deb has been elected by party legislators as the next Chief Minister of the state, union minister Nitin Gadkari confirmed on Tuesday, 2 days after the saffron party's historic win in the north east state. Senior BJP leader Jishnu Debbarma will be the Deputy Chief Minister in Tripura.

The swearing-in for the Tripura government is scheduled to take place on Friday, March 9 in a grand ceremony likely to be attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other BJP chief ministers.

Nitin Gadkari made the announcement after overseeing the meeting of the newly-elected BJP legislators in Tripura.

Biplab Kumar Deb took over as the BJP Tripura president in 2016, the youngest BJP chief of any state. Although the party did not announce a chief ministerial candidate before the elections, Deb was considered to be a front-runner.

"Legislature members will decide who should be made the Chief Minister in a democratic way as BJP believes in democracy. BJP President Amit Shah and PM Modi know how to give right direction to public's suggestion," Deb said ahead of the legislators meet on Tuesday.

ALSO READ: BJP Wins Tripura Ending CPM's 25 Years Rule

Tripura had been considered to be the Left's strongest citadel, with Left party CPI (M) ruling the state for 25 years, helmed by Manik Sarkar as state Chief Minister for 20 years. In the 2018 elections, the results of which were announced on March 3, the BJP won 35 of Tripura's 60 assembly seats, winning a clear majority independently.