BJP Releases Second List Of Candidates For Karnataka Assembly Elections

| April 16 , 2018 , 18:05 IST

The Bharatiya Janata Party on Monday released the second list of 82 candidates for the Karnataka Legislative Assembly Elections scheduled to take place on May 12. These names were finalised by the party’s central election committee held on April 12 in the National Capital.

Controversial mining baron Somasekhar Reddy has been given the Bellary seat. He is the brother of G Janardhana Reddy, who is considered to be the richest politician of Karnataka.

The state elections have seen a bitter rivalry between the ruling Congress Government and the Bharatiya Janata Party that has projected former Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa as its CM candidate.

The Congress party too announced its list of 218 candidates for the state polls with Chief Minister Siddaramaiah deciding to contest from Chamundershwari instead of Badami. Chamundershwari was won by the Janata Dal (Secular) in the previous election.

Also Read: Congress Releases First List Of 218 Candidates For Karnataka Polls

“People of north Karnataka had requested me to contest from Badami. I am grateful for their love & affection, but I have decided to contest only from Chamundeshwari.” He tweeted.

The number of women candidates among the candidates announced by both the national parties is too low. While the BJP's has announced just 3 women candidates among the lists of 154, 15 women candidates find a place in Congress party's list of 218.

Congress, BJP and the JD(S) are the three major players in the Karnataka Assembly elections. Earlier in the day, AIMIM Chief Asaduddin Owaisi announced that his party will not field candidates but help the Janata Dal (secular).