Bihar Seat-Sharing Formula: BJP & JD (U) To Contest 17 Seats Each, LJP In 6

| December 23 , 2018 , 16:25 IST

The BJP chief Amit Shah formally announced seat shares in Bihar for next year's general elections on Sunday.

According to which BJP and Nitish Kumar's Janata Dal-United would contest on 17 seats each and Ram Vilas Paswan's Lok Janashakti Party on six seats.

LJP chief Ram Vilas Paswan will not contest from Hajipur Lok Sabha constituency and, instead, take the Rajya Sabha route.

Amit Shah said, “After a long discussion it has been decided that BJP will fight on 17 seats, JDU will contest on 17 and LJP will stand on 6 seats in Bihar, and Ram Vilas Paswan will be an NDA candidate for Rajya Sabha in the next polls.”

He further said, “All three parties strongly believe that NDA will win more seats in 2019 than what we won in 2014 and have agreed that PM Modi will form the government at the center."

Nitish Kumar, who reached New Delhi in the morning, addressing the media said, “Now that its decided we will contest together, all three parties will soon sit to decide which party will contest from which seat in Bihar.”

Paswan, whose son Chirag had created a flutter with his comments seen as critical of the BJP and the central government, claimed on Sunday there was never a problem in the alliance as he has nurtured the "NDA tree" for five years under Modi's leadership.

Thanking his son Chirag, Paswan said that it was his decision to join NDA and we will try to win on all 40 seats.

Soon after the announcement, Tejashwi Yadav tweeted: "The LJP and JDU got the benefits of asking PM Modi questions about the demonetization after 2 years.  In spite of having 22 parliamentarians in Bihar, the BJP is only contesting 17 seats and Nitish-Ji, who has 2 MPs, will also fight 17 seats. Now you can understand in what condition the NDA is in".