Big Win For India As BRICS Declaration Slams Pak-Based Terror Groups

| September 4 , 2017 , 14:51 IST

For the first time ever, the BRICS countries on Monday lashed out at Pakistan, while deploring terror attacks in member countries and the violence caused by the Pakistan-based terror outfits.

Without naming Pakistan, the BRICS countries including former’s closest ally China slammed Islamabad for the violence caused by the terror outfits harboring on their land.

The 'BRICS Xiamen Declaration' specifically named the Pakistan-based terror outfits Haqqani network, Lashkar-e-Taiba, Jaish-e-Mohammed, and the Taliban, ISIL/DAISH and Al-Qaida.

Apart from this the BRICS members also called for greater efficiency in designation of terrorists.

This move is a big win for India and a setback for Islamabad, as it is China that has been blocking designating Jaishe-e-Muhammad chief Masood Azhar earlier.

"All BRICS leaders came up very strongly in condemning terror in all its manifestations. You can see that in seven paragraphs of the declaration," said an MEA spokeswoman after the declaration was made public.

The BRICS members also made it clear that they condemn terrorism in all its forms.

"We deplore all terrorist attacks worldwide, including attacks in BRICS countries, and condemn terrorism in all its forms and manifestations wherever committed and by whomsoever and stress that there can be no justification," said what is being called the 'BRICS Xiamen Declaration'.

"Members in BRICS countries have been victims of terrorism and today's declaration acknowledges we must work collectively," said the MEA spokeswoman.

ALSO READ: Indian Banker Kamath To Join BRICS In Next 10 Days