Assembly Election 2018: Voting Begins In Telangana And Rajasthan Today

| December 7 , 2018 , 11:41 IST

After a dynamic campaign in Telangana and Rajasthan, the Voting for 119 constituencies in Telangana began at 7 am, while it started at 8 am for 199 out of 200 seats in Rajasthan. The votes polled in Rajasthan and Telangana will be counted on December 11.

Voting will be allowed till 5 pm, except in 13 Maoist-affected constituencies in Telangana, where it will conclude at 4 pm. The election in Alwar district's Ramgarh constituency in Rajasthan had been postponed due to the death of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate Laxman Singh.

Both the BJP and the Congress are locked in a tough fight in Rajasthan, which has not voted the same party to power for more than one term in the last 20 years. The contest is largely bipolar between the BJP and Congress in about 130 seats.

A triangular contest may emerge in about 50 other seats, where rebel candidates from both the parties are in the fray, refusing to step down in favour of the official nominees. There are 830 independent candidates as well.

ALSO READ: Karnataka By-Election 2018 Results: Congress-JDS Alliance Wins By 4-1, People Have Rejected BJP, Says Congress Minister

In Telangana, the Congress stitched together “Prajakutami” (People’s Front) along with the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), the Telangana Jana Samiti (TJS) and the CPI to take on the ruling TRS, led by caretaker chief minister K Chandrasekhar Rao (KCR). The TRS, seeking a second term in office, is going alone, as also the BJP.

6.11% voting was recorded in Rajasthan till 9 a.m and 10.15% of voters voted in Telangana till 9:30 a.m.