Exit Polls 2018: Almost 72.65% Voters Participated In Electing New Rajasthan Assembly

| December 7 , 2018 , 20:37 IST

In the Rajasthan assembly election, almost 72.65% voting was recorded on Friday. The voting to constitute 15th Rajasthan Assembly started at 8 am and continued till 5 pm.

It is learnt that the voting was not in good numbers at the start, but it picked up pace instantly. In all, 41.33 % votes were cast till 1 pm, which touched around 60 % by 3 pm and went up to 72.65 % by 5 pm.

A total of 4.74 core voters were registered for the state elections held in 199 out of 200 constituencies across the state and 2,294 candidates were in the fray. The election in Ramgarh constituency of Alwar district was put off following the death of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate Laxman Singh.

The Congress party has complained to the Election Commission (EC) about malfunctioning of around 400 VVPAT machines. The party workers also complained of slow voting and requested the Commission to extend the voting time.

ALSO READ: Exit Polls 2018: Nearly 70% Voters Turnout To Elect A New Telangana Assembly

On the other hand, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has expressed gratitude to the voters for coming out in large numbers to cast their votes.

According to media reports state BJP chief Madanlal Saini claimed that BJP will form the government again in Rajasthan. He also thanked the EC officials, administration and the police department for playing a significant role in the smooth conduct of elections.

A total of 1.44 lakh constables, head constables and 1,500 police officials were deputed for election duties, while a total of 640 companies were monitoring at different polling centres. Strict vigilance was maintained at 11,000 booths with the help of webcasting, videography and micro-observers.

Early in the morning, Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje voted at a polling booth in her Jhalrapatan constituency in Jhalawar district, while Union Minister Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore and Congress leader Sachin Pilot voted at a polling booth in Jaipur.

Speaking to media CM Vasundhara Raje said, "I think people have seen the kind of work that has taken place in Rajasthan and I think they will go out and vote for development."

The BJP, which was fighting anti-incumbency, is contesting in all the seats, while the Congress has left six for its allies.

The Mayawati-led BSP has fielded 190 candidates, the Communist Party of India-Marxist 28 and the Communist Party of India 16 candidates. There are 830 Independent candidates in the fray.

The Congress face in the state Sachin Pilot, who was fighting an Assembly election for the first time, said, "There are people who never visited the state and have come only for campaigning. The state has suffered a lot under Raje."

In wake of technical faults reports in many polling stations, Jalore District Collector B.L. Kothari said: "Around four EVMs had technical glitch in Ahore constituency. However, within a few minutes, these machines were replaced and smooth polling started in there. This was in early morning owing to poor connections but they were rectified immediately as we had extra machines at the centre."

Counting of votes will take place on December 11, along with four other states - Mizoram, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Telangana.