Ahead Of AICC Plenary, Rahul Gandhi Constitutes Key Committees

| February 28 , 2018 , 14:40 IST

Ahead of the first Plenary Session of the Congress after Rahul Gandhi becoming the party President, the AICC on Wednesday released a detailed list of the members of the Organising Committee, Drafting Committee, it's 3 Sub Groups and a Constitution Amendment Committee.  

In an official release, the All India Congress Committee (AICC) General Secretary Janardan Dwivedi said, "The Congress President Shri Rahul Gandhi has constituted the Organising Committee, the Drafting Committee and its four Sub-Groups and a Constitution Amendment Committee for the forthcoming Plenary Session of the Indian National Congress."

Members have been announced for the following committees:

  • Organising Committee
  • Drafting Committee
  • Sub Group: Political
  • Sub Group: Economic Affairs
  • Sub Group: International Affairs
  • Sub Group: Agriculture, Employment and Poverty Alleviation
  • Constitution Amendment Committee

Click here for the entire list of Committee members.

Randeep Surjewala, the communications in-charge of the All India Congress Committee (AICC) on February 17 had announced that the Congress will be holding its next plenary session on March 16, 17 and 18 in Delhi to discuss and evolve the party's future strategy.

The dates for the plenary session were finalised at a meeting of the Steering Committee that had been formed after the dissolution of the Central Working Committee by Rahul Gandhi.

Regarding the formation of the new CWC and whether elections for it would take place during the plenary session, Surjewala said "we shall inform you". He added, that in the 133-year history of the Congress party, elections to the CWC were held only 5 times.