44.46% Voter Turnout In DUSU 2018 Polls Amidst Heavy Police Force Deployment

| September 13 , 2018 , 08:25 IST

The Delhi University Students' Union (DUSU) polls 2018 were conducted successfully on Wednesday, with a total voter turnout of 44.46 percent, from the 1.35 lakh voter electorate. Heavy police force deployment was also witnessed, with 700 personnel stationed in Delhi University's North campus and more than 500 deployed in the South campus.

The students of Delhi University participated in the polls to elect the President, Vice President and Joint Secretary for their respective colleges. The counting and announcement of results will take place on Thursday.

Both NSUI and ABVP were heard canvassing on the issue of women's security on campus. However, the representation of women in student's body continues to be low. This time too, out of the 23 candidates, only five are women.

ALSO READ: DUSU Elections 2018 Polls Begin: Only 5 Women Candidates From Total 23

The elections were contested by members of the RSS affiliated Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), Congress's National Students' Union of India (NSUI) and Aam Aadmi Party's student wing, Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti (CYSS) which is contesting the polls in alliance with left-wing students' outfit All India Students Association (AISA).

The ABVP has promised to spend 50 percent of the union's budget on women and social justice-related activities, install sanitary pad vending machines in college campuses and give special attention to promoting sports.

ABVP has fielded Ankiv Baisoya for President, Shakti Singh for Vice President, Sudhir for Secretary and Jyoti Choudhary for Joint Secretary.

ALSO READ: Delhi University: Forensic Experts To Check Fake Admission Documents From June 2018

The NSUI has promised the 'Institute of Eminence' tag for Delhi University and Rs 10 thalis in canteens.

NSUI has fielded Sunny Chhillar for President, Leena for Vice President, Aakash Choudhary for Secretary and Saurabh Yadav for Joint Secretary.

AAP's CYSS has promised installation of CCTV cameras on campus, setting up of police booths, ending the "culture of hooliganism" and opposition to "commercialisation of education".

AISA and CYSS have fielded Abhigyan for President, Anshika Singh for Vice President, Chandramani Dev for Secretary and Sunny Tanwar for Joint Secretary.

Around 700 electronic voting machines were installed as the polling took place across 52 centres.