Major Reshuffle, 26 IPS Officers Transferred In UP, Rajiv Krishna Appointed ADG Lucknow

| February 2 , 2018 , 14:37 IST

The Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath BJP government has come under the scanner in recent times over an increase in crimes, violence and rape, especially after the clashes in the Kasganj district.

In the wake of criticisms on the deteriorating law and order situation in the state, the Uttar Pradesh government on Friday transferred 26 Indian Police Service (IPS) officers, including the Additional Director General (ADG) and Inspector General of Police (IG) Lucknow.

ALSO READ: Communal Clash Hits Kasganj, One Dead Three Injured

The previous ADG of Lucknow Abhay Kumar Prasad has been replaced by Rajiv Krishna, and the previous Lucknow IG Jai Narayan Singh has been replaced by Sujit Pandey. There has been no change in the role of Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP), with Deepak Kumar continuing to hold the position.

IG (Railways) Vinod Kumar Singh appointed as the new IG of Moradabad while P.V. Ramashastri has been appointed as the new ADG of Varanasi, Prime Minister Narendra Modi's own parliamentary constituency.

Mohit Agarwal the IG of Gorakhpur, the hometown of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, has been replaced by Neelabja Chowdhary. Meanwhile, Prem Prakash has been appointed the new ADG of Bareilly and Dhruv Kant Thakur has been appointed the new IG Bareilly.

View the full list of IPS officers transferred: