2-Year-Old Dies In Bihar's Jehnabad As Ambulance Gets Stuck In Traffic Jam Due To Bharat Bandh

News World India | 0
| September 10 , 2018 , 14:58 IST

A 2-year-old girl died in Bihar’s Jehnabad on Monday as the ambulance that was ferrying her to the hospital got stuck in the traffic jams caused due to Bharat Bandh.

According to media reports, the parents of the child claimed that the child succumbed to death as they failed to reach the hospital on time due to the road blockage and traffic jam caused by the Congress-led Bharat Bandh.

Media reports say, RJD workers, Jan Adhikar Party workers, are creating a ruckus and have blocked roads in various places. Because of this, on their way to the hospital from Bala Bigha village, the ambulance carrying the two-year-old couldn't move past.

However, contradicting the claims SDO Jehnabad, Paritosh Kumar said, “The death of the child is not related to bandh or traffic jam, the relatives had left late from their home.&rdquo

Meanwhile, the Bharatiya Janata Party has hit back at the Congress asking who will take the responsibility for the death of the child.

Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad addressing a press conference in response to the Bharat Bandh called by Congress said, “In democracy, everybody is welcomed to protest, but is violence acceptable? The Congress party should answer who is responsible for burning of buses, vandalising petrol pump. It's the essence of democracy that hospitals, ambulances, and medicine shops are allowed to function without any hindrance. But, with the death of 2-year-old in Bihar today, an environment of fear is being created.”

The Congress party launched its 'Bharat Bandh' protest on Monday across the nation, protesting against the 'fuel loot' of increasing petrol and diesel prices. Congress President Rahul Gandhi also returned from his Kailash Mansarovar Yatra to lead the protest from Delhi.

The Congress claims that at least 21 Opposition parties are supporting the Bandh, including former PM HD Deve Gowda's Janata Dal (Secular), Raj Thackeray's Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS), Lalu Prasad Yadav's Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), former Bihar CM Jitan Ram Manjhi's HAM(S), Samajwadi Party, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Communist Party of India (Marxist), M K Stalin's DMK and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) among others.