12 Congress, 10 JD(S) MLAs Take Oath As Karnataka Cabinet Ministers

| June 6 , 2018 , 17:33 IST

Around 2 weeks after JD(S)’s HD Kumaraswamy was sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka, representing the post-poll alliance of Congress and JD(S), 25 Ministers were sworn into the Kumaraswamy cabinet on Wednesday that included 12 Congress MLAs, 10 JD(S) MLAs, lone BSP MLA N Mahesh and two independent MLAs R Shankar and Venkataramanappa.

Kumaraswamy's brother HD Revanna was the first person to take the oath.

The list of the Congress MLAs to take the oath was finalized in a meeting between Congress President Rahul Gandhi and senior state leaders including former CM Siddharamaiah, deputy chief minister G Parameswara, DK Shivakumar and AICC general secretary in-charge of Karnataka affairs KC Venugopal. 

Congress' DK Shivakumar, Priyank Kharge and Krishna Byre Gowda took the Karnataka ministers today, among others.

ALSO READ: I Am At Mercy Of Congress And Not 6.5 Crore People Of Karnataka, Says CM Kumaraswamy

According to the power-sharing arrangement, the Congress would have a total of 22 ministers in the Karnataka cabinet, while the JD(S) would have 12, including CM Kumaraswamy. In the Karnataka state assembly elections 2018, the Congress had won 78 seats and the JD(S) had 38 seats.

The single BSP legislator in Karnataka, N Mahesh, will likely be given a key portfolio as well, since the BSP was a pre-poll ally of the JD(S), marking the first time that BSP will be a part of a government outside of Uttar Pradesh.

“We will give due importance to our pre-poll ally, the BSP by giving its lone MLA a ministerial berth,” JD(S) secretary general Danish Ali had told news agency PTI.

Based on the agreement between the alliance partners, the Congress will have the portfolios of Home, Irrigation, Bengaluru City Development, Industries, Health, Revenue, Urban Development, Rural Development, Agriculture, Medical Education, Housing, Labour, Women & Child Welfare, Forest & Environment, Mines & Geology, Social Welfare, Food & Civil Supplies, Law & Parliamentary Affairs, IT, BT and Science & Technology, Kannada Culture, Sports & Youth Affairs, Haj & Wakf and Minority Affairs, and Ports & Inland Transport Development departments.

Meanwhile, JD(S) will have the portfolios of Finance, Excise, Information, Intelligence, General Administration, Planning & Statistics, Public Works Department (PWD), Power, Cooperation, Tourism, General Education, Animal Husbandry & Fisheries, Horticulture & Sericulture, Small-Scale Industries, Transport and Minor Irrigation.

List of Ministers : JD(S)
HD Revanna
GT Devegowdaa
Bandepppa Kashampur
DC Tamanna
MC Managouli
SR Sreenivas (Vasu)
Venkatrao Nadgoud
CS Puttaraju
Sa Ra Mahesh
N Mahesh (BSP)
List of Ministers: Congress
RV Deshpande
DK Shivakumar
KJ George
Krishna Byregowda
Shivashankar Reddy
Ramesh Jarkiholi
Priyank Kharge
UT Khadar
BZ Zameer Ahamed Khan
Shivananda Patil
Rajashekhar Basavaraj Patil
Puttaranga Shetty
R Shankar (KJPJ)