Shah Rukh Khan, Madhuri Dixit, Tabu Among 20 Indians Invited To Be Members Of Oscar Academy

| June 26 , 2018 , 13:07 IST

Bollywood personalities Shah Rukh Khan, Anil Kapoor, Naseeruddin Shah, Tabu, Aditya Chopra, Madhuri Dixit and Ali Fasal are among the 20 Indians invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Science, the organisation that oversees the Oscars.

The Academy Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has released a new list of 928 members. The Academy has extended its invitation to personalities from 59 different countries this year. It marks the third year in a row that the Academy has broken its own record, last year it made a high mark by inviting 774 new members.

The new invitees are an effort on the Oscar-giving body to include more women, people of colour and international filmmakers. This move has been taken seriously by the Academy given the criticism they faced during the "Oscars So White" controversy and with the panel being predominantly ruled by men.

ALSO READ:IIFA Awards: Sridevi, Irrfan Khan and Anupam Kher Bag Top Honours

Dangal editor Ballu Saluja, costume designers Manish Malhotra and Dolly Ahluwalia, cinematographer Anil Mehta, actress Madhabi Mukherjee, production designers Subrata Chakraborthy and Amit Ray are also part of the list.

According to Hollywood Reporter, ”Forty-nine percent of the class of 2018 are female, and, should all accept membership, that will bring an overall percentage of women in the Academy to 31 percent. Thirty-eight percent of the new members are people of colour, bringing their overall percentage in the Academy to 16 percent.”

Last year, the Indian actors invited by The Academy to be members were Aamir Khan, Priyanka Chopra, Irrfan Khan, Amitabh Bachchan, Deepika Padukone, Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Mrinal Sen and Goutam Ghose and Sooni Taraporevala.

Last year, the Academy was criticised for not including Shah Rukh Khan in the list which had the Aamir and Salman. Looks like the Academy has now rectified their error.