Legendary Indian Wrestler And Actor Late Dara Singh Inducted In WWE Hall Of Fame 2018

| April 9 , 2018 , 19:00 IST

World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) announced the Hall of Fame’s legacy inductee on Saturday. In a good news for Indian wrestling fans, legendary Indian wrestler and actor Late Dara Singh finds a proud place in WWE Hall of Fame 2018.

Dara Singh became the first ever Indian to be inducted into the WWE Hall of Fame in the glittering ceremony which took place just before the Wrestlemania 34 main event. 

ALSO READ: Salman Khan Parties Like A 'Free' Bird With 'Race 3' Gang At Saqib Saleem Birthday Bash

Not many are aware that Dara Singh was a legendary wrestler before being an actor.

Vindu Dara Singh, son of Late Dara Singh shared this proud moment on his official Twitter handle.

The legendary wrestler or 'pehelwan' was quite popular in the wrestling circuits in the 1940’s through 1983. In that period, he went through great matches against the likes of Japanese pro-wrestling pioneer Rikidōzan and WWE legend Lou Thesz whom he defeated to clinch his first World Championship title.

Image result for dara singh as wrestler

In his wrestling career, Late Dara Singh battled all over the eastern hemisphere, capturing the Commonwealth Championship and titles in India and Singapore. In 1996, his excellence was also recognised by the Wrestling Observer Newsletter Hall of Fame and there he was inducted by Dave Meltzer.

After his retirement from wrestling, Late Dara Singh started acting and he soon became a household name for playing Hanuman in Ramanand Sagar’s Ramayan. He had a successful stint in Bollywood and Indian television industry. He starred in many Hindi movies such as Faulad, Mard, Mera Naam Joker, Jab We Met, Sultana Daku, Anand, Daku Mangal Singh and Dharmatma.

Image result for dara singh as hanuman

Besides his acting career, he was also quite active in politics and in 2003, he became the first sportsman to be nominated to the Rajya Sabha. He passed away in 2012 due to a heart attack.

Others on the Hall of Fame list included former WWF Champion Stan Stasiak, Lord Alfred Hayes, Cora Combs, El Santo, Jim Londos, Rufus J Jones, Sputnik Monroe and Boris Malenko. The ceremony was a five-hour long programme almost and saw some emotional moments as well as a broken table.