Women's Asia Cup T20 Final: Bangladesh Beats India By 3 Wickets To Claim Their Maiden Title

| June 10 , 2018 , 16:12 IST

Bangladesh gave a thrilling finish to the 2018 Asia Cup T20 to lift the cup for the first time by beating Indian women. The terrific match witnessed India's unbeaten-streak coming to a halt at the Kinrara Academy Oval in Kuala Lumpur on Sunday.

Losing the toss, six-time champions India had to bat. As the former skipper Mithali Raj and Smriti Mandhana made their way to the pitch, high hopes were on a huge score but the latter fell short for 7, leaving India at 16/1 after 5 overs.

Mithali's departure for 11 runs after 7.1 overs became a turning point as soon after, the wickets kept falling from the Indian side. As skipper Harmanpreet Kaur with Anuja Patil stepped on the field, a little hope was restored which soon faded away with Ahuja's wicket.

As the wickets kept falling, the Indian skipper maintained her momentum and smashed a half-century in 39 balls with 7 boundaries. Despite the maximum effort by Kaur and veteran Jhulan Goswami, India piled up 112/9.

Nonetheless, a little faith in the bowling line-up ignited when Ekta Bisht gave away only 1 run in the opening over to Bangladeshi openers Shamima Sultana and Ayasha Rahman. Though Shikha Pandey giving away 11 runs off the second over didn't help team India.

Unlike India's 21/1, Bangladesh was at 33 after the end of the powerplay. Ayasha had to run back to the pavilion after 6.5 overs off Poonam Yadav's ball and her partner Shamima followed the lead. With 8 wickets remaining, Bangladesh had to score 69 runs off 69 balls.

As Bangladesh kept moving forward, Poonam took her third wicket for the day by dismissing Fargana Hoque. As pressure starting mounting on Bangladesh, in-form Nigar Sultana saved the day for their team by hitting back-to-back boundaries before being dismissed by Yadav.

Having lost 7 wickets, Bangladesh required two runs on the last ball and Jahanara Alam managed to score just those to defeat India in a historic match by 3 wickets to lift their maiden Asia Cup title. Bangladesh has become the only team apart from India to win the title.