Virat Kohli To Be Honoured With Prestigious Polly Umrigar Award

| June 7 , 2018 , 17:02 IST

Indian Cricket Skipper Virat Kohli will be honoured with prestigious Polly Umrigar Award for the best international cricketer (2016-17 and 2017-18). This was announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India on Thursday. The presentation will take place at the BCCI Awards Ceremony (Naman) in Bengaluru on June 12th.

Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana will be honoured with the Best Internation Cricketer (women) for 2016-17 and 2017-18 respectively.

Parvez Rasool of Jammu and Kashmir has been named for Lala Amarnath Award for the best All-rounder in Ranji trophy. Krunal Pandya has been named for Lala Amarnath Award for best all-rounder in domestic limited-overs competitions.

A total of 18 awards will be given by the BCCI in the event ceremony named ‘Naman’. Four of these awards have been rechristened in the remembrance of Late Jagmohan Dalmiya. The Jagmohan Dalmiya Trophy will be presented to the leading run-scorer and wicket-taker respectively in the U-16 Vijay Merchant Trophy and to the Best Junior and Senior Cricketer in women’s cricket.

Also Read: Virat Kohli Only Indian Among Forbes World's Highest Paid Athlete

Two awards are named after legendary Indian cricketer Lala Amarnath and four awards have been named after M.A Chidambaram, an industrialist and cricket administrator after whom the Madras Cricket Stadium was renamed as M.A Chidambaram Stadium.