Shardul Thakur & Kedar Jadhav To Join Indian Squad For ODI Series Against South Africa

| December 24 , 2017 , 19:14 IST

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) recently announced the final 17-member squad for the six-match ODI series against South Africa with many surprising players making their comeback in the team. While Virat Kohli will join back his boys for the entire series post a much-needed break, pacer Shardul Thakur will also make his ODI comeback.

The middle-order batsman Kedar Jadhav also gets space in the 50-over format whereas seasoned spinners, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have been dropped for the series. Replacing the experienced players, the young wrist-spinning duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal will join the men the blue for their tryst with Africans.

The left-arm orthodox Axar Patel and paceman Mohammed Shami have also found their way back in the team. Other current limited over regular players including Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni, Ajinkya Rahane, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah will remain in the squad.

Shreyas Iyer's extra-ordinary play against Sri Lanka has earned him a place in the next series as well. Jadhav will join the team back after catering to a hamstring injury which ruled him out of the Sri Lanka ODIs. Shargul replaces             Siddharth Kaul, who, unfortunately, didn't get to play in the Sri Lanka series.