Nidahas Trophy: India Stifle Bangladesh As Vijay Shankar, Jaydev Unadkat Shine In Win

| March 9 , 2018 , 12:09 IST

After a lacklustre showing in bowling department against Sri Lanka, Indian bowlers stepped up. The team produced an all-round display to beat Bangladesh by six wickets on Thursday. They restricted Bangladesh to 139/8 and then chased down the target with six wickets and eight balls to spare.

Shikhar Dhawan continued his red-hot form with a 55 off 43 deliveries to play the lead role in India's batting. But the win was mostly set-up by the bowlers Jaydev Unadkat (3/38), Vijay Shankar (2/32), Yuzvender Chahal (1/19) and Shardul Thakur (1/25).

ALSO READ: BCCI Announces Exponential Salary Hike For Men And Women Cricketers

The Indian captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bowl. Taking wickets at the regular intervals, the Indian bowlers made up for their last performance.

Bangladesh openers Tamim Iqbal (15) and Soumya Sarkar (14) tried to take benefit of the powerplay but in the third over, medium pacer Unadkat dismissed Sarkar to make it 20/1.

After adding 15 more runs to the score with new batsmen Liton Das (34), Iqbal was also sent back to the pavilion by pacer Thakur.

Unflustered by the fall of wickets around him Das tried to anchor the Bangladeshi innings but couldn’t find a partner to help him build a score.

Eventually, they only managed to post a total of 139 for the fall of eight wickets.

Meanwhile, India again banked on their opener Shikhar Dhawan to give a good start and fluster the opposition bowling line up.

His quick-fire run-scoring ability coupled with Suresh Raina’s steady innings were the foundation for India’s win.

The Men In Blue now take on hosts Sri Lanka on March 12.