India vs South Africa: Virat Kohli And Men Attempt To Wrap Up T20 Series With Win

| February 21 , 2018 , 13:54 IST

India’s tour of South Africa is coming to a close with just two games remaining. Captain Virat Kohli and company can look at it with a sense of satisfaction and progress.

Since winning the third test match in Johannesburg, The Men In Blue blew away The Proteas in the ODI series, winning five out the six matches. They continued this comprehensive dominance in the first T20 Internationals as well, as they won it by 28 runs.

South Africa at home were expected to be a formidable force, but if you leave out the first two Tests and the fourth ODI, they have been at the receiving end of India's wrath over two months or so.

ALSO READ: India Vs South Africa: Shikhar Dhawan And Bhuvenshwar Kumar Shine As Men In Blue Win The First T20

India will be eyeing a series wrap in the second T20 International on Wednesday, as third-placed team in ICC’s T20 Ranking could see them become the second placed team on the list.

The good news for India is that skipper Kohli, who had limped off the field during the latter stages of the previous match, is expected to be fit for Wednesday's match. Being just 130 runs behind West Indian legend Vivian Richards' record of scoring 1,000 runs on a single tour, and  176 runs away from overhauling Richards' total tally of 1,045 runs (829 runs in four Tests and 216 runs in ODIs) of 1976, Kohli is on the brink of completing another milestone in his career.

The pitch at Centurion is expected to again be a slower one, which will help Indian spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal, both in good wicket-taking form.


India: Virat Kohli(c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Jaydev Unadkat, Shardul Thakur, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal

South Africa: Jean-Paul Duminy(c), Farhaan Behardien, Junior Dala, Reeza Hendricks, Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, JJ Smuts, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Chris Morris