India Beat South Africa In 3rd T20 match, Won Series With 2-1

| February 25 , 2018 , 16:00 IST

On the base of the mindblowing performance of the bowlers, Indian Cricket team defeated South Africa by seven runs in the exciting T20 game played at Newlands Cricket Stadium on Saturday. With this victory, India made their name the 3 T20 match series with 2-1.

Batting first after losing the toss, Indian Team set a target of 173 in 20 overs for South Africa, chasing which the hosting team missed with just 7 runs. South Africa lost their first wicket very early as Reeza Hendricks get caught at the hands of Shikar Dhawan on Bhuvneshwar Kumar's ball. Opener David Miller (24) then shared a 35 run partnership with captain J P Duminy (55) but on the team total of 45 runs, Suresh Raina caught Miller on the ball of Akshar Patel hitting the 2nd wicket of South Africa. 

The fate of Klassen who scored the highest score for South Africa in the previous match didn't support him the second time. In the 13th over, he lost his wicket to Hardik Pandya's ball and get caught by Bhuvneshwar Kumar on the boundary taking a chance of hitting a long shot. Captain Duminy (55) then combined with Christiaan Jonker (49) who was playing his first T20 match and both made a partnership of 30 runs to make the team score beyond 100. 

In the meantime, Duminy also completed his half-century. However, after his half-century, he failed to stay on the ground for long. Shardul gave a big success to visiting side by making Duminy caught out to the hands of Rohit Sharma removing the trouble from India's victory. 

Jasprit Bumrah hit Chris Morris at the score of 114 and fifth wicket of the hosting team also dropped. South Africa was now getting away from its goal but Jonker who was playing his first T20 match here scored 18 runs in 18th over and gave his team an excursion. 

South Africa now had to make 35 runs in 12 balls for which they have to make 3 runs per ball. Jonker with Farhaan Behardien (15) made a partnership of 51 runs but they left 7 runs away from achieving the goal as Rohit Sharma caught out Jonker on the last ball of Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Jonker hits five fours and two sixes in 24 balls. 

Bhuvneshwar took two wickets for India and became the man of the match, while Bumrah, Shardul, Pandya and Raina got one success. 

Earlier, the start of the innings for the batting Indian team was quite staggering. Rohit (11), who retained Virat Kohli's place as captain of the team, returned to the pavilion soon. Junior Dala padded out the first wicket of the visiting team. 

In the meantime, Chris Maurice made Shikhar Dhawan (47) almost out in the sixth over to the pavilion, but Shamsi missed the catch and gave life to Dhawan. After this, Dhawan with Raina (43) made the score of team 79 with a superb half-century partnership of 65 runs. On this score, Raina was dismissed by Tabraiz Shamsi. Raina tried to hit a long shot and got trapped in the hands of Behardien standing on the boundary.  

After Dhawan’s dismissal, Pandya (21) and Mahendra Singh Dhoni (12) took charge of the team. Both of them had added 25 runs that once again, Dala stands up like a trouble and made Dhoni his prey. Dhoni was caught by David Miller. When Dhoni get out Team’s score was 151. 

After Dhoni was dismissed, Morris did not allow Pandya to stay on the field for long. Morris then makes Dinesh Karthik (13) out to the pavilion. After this, Akshar  Patel (not out 1) and Bhuvneshwar (3 not out) brought the team to the score of 172, until the end of the scheduled overs.