Bhanu Pratap Sharma Appointed As Chairman Of Banks Board Bureau Replacing Vinod Rai

| April 12 , 2018 , 19:27 IST

The Government has appointed IAS officer Bhanu Pratap Sharma as the Chairman of Banks Board Bureau replacing former Comptroller and Auditor General Of India Vinod Rai.

Bhanu Pratap Sharma is an officer of the 1981 Bihar Cadre and has been on central deputation for some time. He was serving as the Chairman of the recruitment and assessment centre of Defense Research and Development Organisation (DRDO). He served as Health Secretary to the Union Government and as Principal Secretary (Finance), Govt of Bihar.

Sharma replaces Vinod Rai whose silence has been questioned in the aftermath of the massive bank scams undertaken by Nirav Modi and Mehul Choksi. He has also faced immense criticism in the aftermath of the CBI court verdict that acquitted all the accused in the 2G allocation case. His term expired on March 31.

Also Read: Ola Expands Its Operations, Enters Melbourne

Tweeting the list of members, Rajeev Kumar who serves as Secretary, Department of Financial Services and is an ex-officio member of the Board wrote, “Govt renews commitment to not interfere in Senior level appointments in PSBs. Appoints new BBB with professionals with diverse expertise to select top management in PSBs. BBB Recommendations made so far including HR reforms agenda to be taken forward.”


Former MD (Investment banking and Global markets) of Credit Suisse India Vedika Bhandarkar, former MD of SBI P.Pradeep Kumar and former MD of CRISIL Pradeep Shah have been appointed as members of the board.