National Sports Day 2017: List Of Sportspersons To Be Honoured By President

न्यूज़ वर्ल्ड इंडिया | 1
| August 29 , 2017 , 15:53 IST

29 August marks the birth anniversary of the hockey wizard, Major Dhyan Chand. To mark the relevance of the day, eminent sports personalities are honoured with prestigious awards for their contribution to Indian sports.

Khel Ratna, Arjuna, Dronacharya, Dhyan Chand Awards are presented to the considered players by the President himself on the day. This year, President, Ram Nath Kovind will honour over 29 sportspersons at a special event organised at Rashtrapati Bhawan.

ALSO READ: National Sports Day Special: A Tribute To Hockey Prodigy Major Dhyan Chand

Let us have a look at the list of athletes to be conferred at the special ceremony:

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards

Devendra Jhajharia- The 36-year-old Para Athlete has earned 3 gold medals for the country.

Sardar Singh- The youngest to lead Indian Hockey team, Sardar is considered as one of the ace midfielders in the world.

Arjuna award

Jyothi Surekha Vennam- The Andhra Pradeshi Archer has won two individual golds for India and one team silver.

Khushbir Kaur- The Punjab Athlete has one bronze and one silver in her kitty.

Rajiv Arokia- The sprint athlete has won India a bronze in 2014 Asian Games and has been a regular member of the 4x400m relay national team.

Prashanthi Singh- The basketball player has performed consistently ever since joining the Indian Team in 2002.

Laishram Devendro Singh- The Manipur-born boxer won India silver in 2014 Common Wealth Games.

Cheteshwar Pujara- The cricketer has scored 1316 runs in a single Test season- the highest-ever aggregate for an Indian player.

Harmanpreet Kaur: The consistent player won many hearts with her memorable 171 not out in the World Cup semifinals against Australia.

Oinam Bembem Devi- She is the caption of Indian women's football team for past two decades.

SSP Chawrasia- The Indian Golfer is the winner of six international titles including four on the European Tour.

SV Sunil- The hockey player was named 'Player of the Year' in Asian Hockey Awards for his prominent performance.

Jasvir Singh- The Haryana-born Kabaddi player played an important role in Indian team winning two international golds.

Prakash Nanjappa- The pistol shooter has won one bronze and 2 silver for India.

Anthony Amalraj- The Table Tennis player has won silver medal at 2014 Commonwealth Games.

Saketh Myneni- The 29-year-old tennis player has won a gold and silver in mixed doubles.

Satyawart Kadian- He won a bronze medal in the boys' freestyle 100 kg wrestling in 2010 Youth Olympics.

Mariyappan- The Para-Athlete won the gold medal in the men's high jump at the Rio Paralympics in 2016.

Varun Singh Bhati- The Para-Athlete bagged a bronze medal at the Rio Paralympics along with a gold at the 2014 China Open Athletics Championship.

Dronacharya Awards

Late Dr. R. Gandhi- AthleticsHeera Nand Kataria- Kabaddi

Heera Nand Kataria- Kabaddi

G.S.S.V. Prasad- Badminton - Lifetime

Brij Bhushan Mohanty- Boxing - Lifetime

Mr. P.A. Raphel- Hockey - Lifetime

Sanjoy Chakraverthy- Shooting - Lifetime

Mr. Roshan Lal- Wrestling - Lifetime

Dhyanchand Awards

Bhupender Singh- Athletics

Syed Shahid Hakim- Football

Sumarai Tete- Hockey