IPL 2018 Women's Challenge: Supernovas Beat Trailblazers By 3 Wickets In Exhibition Match

News World India | 0
| May 22 , 2018 , 19:24 IST

The much-talked-about Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 women's exhibition T20 match at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Tuesday had an exciting finish as Supernovas registered an enthralling three-wicket victory over The Trailblazers.

Unfortunately, the match failed to garner many eyeballs despite the presence of world-class players from India, New Zealand, England and Australia including the biggest names like Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, Ellyse Perry, Meg Lanning, Suzie Bates and Danielle Wyatt.

Nonetheless, the exhilarating game witnessed many historic moments including the Indian skipper Mithali Raj playing for Supernovas smacking her India teammate Jhulan Goswami for a couple of boundaries in the first over followed by a smashing six on Shikha Pandey's ball.

As The Trailblazers scored 129/6 in first innings, thanks to Bates’ 37-ball 32 with Megan Schutt and Ellyse claiming two wickets each, The Supernovas were left to chase, which they did with ease. They, however, staggered when Mithali fell for a 20-ball 24 but recovered soon after.

Before being dismissed by Poonam Yadav in the ninth over, Meg Lanning (16) had hit back-to-back fours off Danielle Hazell. Following her ouster, New Zealand’s Sophie Devine and Harmanpreet Kaur joined forces to take their team ahead.

Supernovas have won the toss and have opted to field. The exhibition match consisted of 13 players on each side, with 11 allowed to take the field. Earlier, Suzie Bates scored 32 whereas Jemimah Rodrigues and Deepti Sharma contributed with 25 and 21 respectively to The Trailblazers score.

Trailblazers: Alyssa Healy(w), Smriti Mandhana(c), Deepti Sharma, Danielle Hazell, Jhulan Goswami, Suzie Bates, Shikha Pandey, Beth Mooney, Ekta Bisht, Lea Tahuhu, Jemimah Rodrigues, Poonam Yadav, Dayalan Hemalatha

Supernovas: Harmanpreet Kaur(c), Danielle Wyatt, Mithali Raj, Meg Lanning, Taniya Bhatia(w), Sophie Devine, Ellyse Perry, Veda Krishnamurthy, Mona Meshram, Pooja Vastrakar, Megan Schutt