IPL 2018 Final: Winsome Watson Powers 'Whistle Podu' CSK Through A Clinical Victory Against SRH

News World India | 0
| May 28 , 2018 , 13:43 IST

The entire nation cheered as Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings claimed its third Indian Premier League title after a clinical victory against Kane Williamson-led SunRisers Hyderabad in the victory by eight wickets at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Sunday.

Playing in IPL after two years, CSK painted the town 'yellow' with their fairytale comeback in the much-loved cricket tournament by winning the title for the third time. Their victory could be credited to the experience of magnificent powerhouse trio - MS Dhoni, Shane Watson and Suresh Raina.

Shane Watson single-handedly led the team through the finals by remaining unbeaten on 117 off 57 balls. Chasing SunRisers Hyderabad's 179, the on roll Australian smashed 11 fours and eight sixes to finish off the match in 18.3 overs accompanied by Ambati Rayudu smashed the final four.

Post the earlier dismissal of Shikhar Dhawan and Kane Williamson, SRH collapsed at 179 but remained confident in their much-appreciated bowling line-up to save the day. Unfortunately, men in yellow crushed their entire set up to establish a smashing victory for Chennai Super Kings.

Unfortunately for Williamson, his bowlers failed to restrict the CSK players from hitting runs left and right. Following Faf du Plessis's early dismissal of Sandeep Sharma, Watson and Raina plundered 60 runs to get the chase on track. Siddarth Kaul seemed off the sync throughout costing his team 32 runs off his two overs.

By the time Carlos Brathwaite fell off Carlos Brathwaite, Shane was on the verge of completing his 2nd IPL century this year and the rest is history. On the bowling front also, CSK kept it tight until  Yusuf Pathan's cameo who gave away major points to the opposite team.

Nonetheless, Chennai Super Kings emerged victoriously and ended their stellar campaign at 2018 IPL.