3rd ODI Preview: Dominant Team India Eye Series Win, New Zealand Will Face Do-or-die Contest

News World India | 0
| January 27 , 2019 , 20:20 IST

Virat Kohli led-team India will aim to showcase yet another dominant performance to seal the five-match One-Day International (ODI) series when they face New Zealand in the third match at Mount Maunganui on Monday.

After registering big victories in the first two ODI matches, the Men in blue are already high on confidence and is likely to dominate the proceedings on the spin-assisting pitch at Bay Oval.

India beat the hosts in the first match by 8-wickets, thanks to spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal. In the second match, Yadav again shone with the ball, scalping four wickets. The batsmen also impressed in the second match as they posted a mammoth 324/4.

Skipper Virat Kohli will be rested for the final two ODIs and the subsequent T20I series against the hosts. Opener Rohit Sharma, who led India to the Asia Cup triumph a few months ago, will captain the Men-in-Blue in Kohli's absence.

However, the tourists have won only 10 out of 35 ODIs against the Kiwis on their home turf, which also includes a 0-4 thrashing in 2014.

ALSO READ: Jai Hind: Team India Wrap The Second ODI, Win By 90 Runs Against NZ

The Indian team boasts of a strong batting lineup with the likes of Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan and an in-form Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Also, Kohli, as usual, is at his peak and would once again be the main strength of the Indian batting line-up. The Indian run-machine had scored a century in his previous outing at this venue during their last tour here in 2014.

In the bowling department, medium pacer Bhuvaneshwar Kumar will once again lead the attack along with Mohammad Shami. The two were the most consistent performers during the ODI series down under.

Yuzvendra Chahal, who emerged with career-best figures of 6/42 against Australia in the final ODI, is likely to be picked in the playing eleven on Wednesday

Talking about New Zealand, Kane Williamson along with Ross Taylor will look to take the charge against the bowlers. Taylor amassed 281 runs against the Lankans, which included a couple of the fifties and a century in three games.

Henry Nicholls, who smashed an unbeaten 124 in the final affair against the Islanders, will try to replicate his show against the No. 2 ranked India.

The Kiwi batting line-up also has some other big guns like Martin Guptill, Colin Munro. Kane has been the most consistent performer for the home side while Munro carries the ability to swiftly change gears depending upon the situation.

In terms of bowling, the Kiwis posses one of the most attacking pace attacks with Trent Boult and Tim Southee. The duo are well known for their ability to get early breakthroughs and in death overs. Also, the duo are likely to get able support from pacer Lockie Ferguson, who too, was impressive in their last series.

Squads Of Both Teams: India- Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (Captain), MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Vijay Shankar, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ambati Rayudu, Shubman Gill, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, K. Khaleel Ahmed.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wicket-keeper), Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson, Henry Nicholls, Doug Bracewell, Matt Henry.