YSR Congress Releases Full List Of Candidates For Lok Sabha Election Polls 2019

News World India | 0
| March 17 , 2019 , 16:05 IST

YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, chief of YSR Congress Party, announced the full list of candidates for 25 Lok Sabha and the 175 constituencies on Sunday at Idupulapaya in Kadapa district after offering tributes to his father YS Rajasekhar Reddy.

51 Seats out of the 175 constituencies were given to Reddys. If we take out the reserved constituencies, they walked away with a major number of seats in all General Constituencies. In Rayalaseema, of the total 52 constituencies, Reddys got 33 seats which make up 64% of the total seats in the region including all the four districts - Chittoor, Kadapa, Kurnool and Anantapur.

Of the 25 Lok Sabha candidates, seven were from backward classes, four Scheduled Castes and one Scheduled Tribe, Jagan said, adding among the 175 Assembly candidates, 41 belonged to the backward classes and five to the Muslim community.

Only two candidates, who were elected as party MPs in 2014, have been re-nominated while new candidates have been chosen by the party for the remaining 23 seats. Modugula Venugopal Reddy, the TDP MLA who recently joined the YSRC, has been made the party candidate for the Guntur Lok Sabha seat.

ALSO READ: YSR Congress President Jagan Mohan Reddy Attacked With Knife At Vizag Airport

Former MP Vanga Geeta, who joined the YSRC only Saturday evening, is being fielded from Kakinada while MLC Magunta Srinivasulu Reddy, who too joined the party Saturday night, will be fighting for the Ongole Lok Sabha seat.

YSR Congress has taken this election very seriously. It is very difficult for a new regional party to sustain without power for about a decade. Also, Jagan is being suffocated by numerous cases pending. If YSR Congress does not come to power and it Congress supported Government comes up in the Center, life will become miserable.