Voting Ends For Bypolls To 4 Parliamentary, 10 Assembly Seats Across 10 States

News World India | 0
| May 28 , 2018 , 14:15 IST

Voting ended on Monday for bypolls to 4 Lok Sabha seats and 10 assembly constituencies across 10 states. The bypolls for the Lok Sabha seats are taking place in Kairana in Uttar Pradesh, Bhandara-Gondiya and Palghar parliamentary constituencies in Maharashtra and the Nagaland Lok Sabha seat.

The 10 assembly bypolls are taking place in Maharashtra (Palus Kadegaon constituency), Uttar Pradesh (Noorpur), Bihar (Jokihat), Jharkhand (Gomia and Silli), Kerala (Chengannur), Meghalaya (Ampati), Punjab (Shahkot), Uttarakhand (Tharali) and West Bengal (Maheshtala).

ALSO READ: BSP SP Forge Strategic Alliance Ahead Of Bypoll

The bypolls on Monday mark the first elections after the show of Opposition strength during the swearing in of JD(S)'s HD Kumaraswamy as the Chief Minister of Karnataka.

The Kairana constituency fell vacant after the death of BJP MP Hukum Singh and is being contested by his daughter Mriganka Singh on behalf of BJP, while the Congress, Samajwadi Party and the Bahujan Samaj Party are supporting RLD candidate Tabassum Hasan.

The Bhandra-Gondia constituency was vacated after Nana Patole quit as the BJP MP and resigned to rejoin the Congress party and the Palghar seat was left vacant after the death of sitting BJP MP Chintaman Wanaga in January this year.

For the Bhandra-Gondia seat, the BJP has nominated Hemant Patle who will be expected to lock horns with the NCP candidate Madhukar Kukde. In Palghar, the Shiv Sena has fielded late BJP MP Chintaman Wanaga's son Shriniwas Wanaga to the dismay of the BJP which has nominated Congress deserter Rajendra Gavit. Despite being allies, the relations between the Shiv Sena and the BJP have been strained.

The bypoll to the lone Lok Sabha seat of Nagaland in the northeastern state was necessitated after resignation of current Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio in February from the Lok Sabha to contest the state assembly elections. The Nagaland bypoll is being contested by ruling Peoples Democratic Alliance (PDA) candidate Tokheho Yepthomi and opposition NPF nominee C Apok Jamir.

Counting of votes for the bypolls will take place on May 31.

Although the BJP has had a winning streak of sorts in state government elections, the Opposition has been winning bypolls in Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan.