After Gujarat Election, Amit Shah, Smriti Irani Takes Oath As Rajya Sabha Members

न्यूज़ वर्ल्ड इंडिया | 0
| August 25 , 2017 , 12:54 IST

Days after victory in Gujarat Rajya Sabha election, Bharatiya Janata Party's National President Amit Shah and Union Minister for Information and Broadcast Smriti Irani on Friday morning took oath as members of the upper house of the Parliament.

Rajya Sabha Chairman and Vice President of the country M. Venkaiah Naidu administered the oath of office to Shah and Irani.

Both the leaders were accompanied by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad.

While Smriti Irani is entering the upper house for her second term, this will by Amit Shah's first Rajya Sabha stint.

ALSO READ: After Gujarat RS Win, Congress Expels 14 Rebel MLAs For 'Anti-Party Activities'

News Agency ANI reported that Irani took the oath in  Sanskrit.

Earlier in the Gujarat Rajya Sabha elections, Congress candidate Ahmed Patel got 44 votes that was just enough to beat his rival Congress defector Balwantsinh Rajput and earn a fifth term in Rajya Sabha. On the other hand BJP candidate Amit Shah and Smriti Irani got 46 and 45 votes respectively.