No Post Found Rajasthan Polls: Both Sachin Pilot, Ashok Gehlot To Contest Assembly Elections | समाचार । विश्लेषण। विचार। ख़ास रिपोर्ट


Rajasthan Polls: Both Sachin Pilot, Ashok Gehlot To Contest Assembly Elections

News World India | 0
| November 14 , 2018 , 18:00 IST

The Indian National Congress (INC) on Wednesday announced two chief ministerial aspirants Sachin Pilot and Ashok Gehlot, who will contest the Rajasthan election on December 7. It was revealed in a joint press conference by the two Congress leaders.

Speaking to media Ashok Gehlot, a former chief minister in Delhi said, "Both, I and Sachin Pilot will fight the Rajasthan assembly elections."

While according media reports Sachin Pilot said, "On Congress president Rahul Gandhi's instruction and on Gehlotji's request, I have decided to contest the assembly elections."

He also said that there was a lot of infighting within the Bharatiya Janata Party over ticket distribution and disgruntled leaders have been queuing up to join the Congress.

ALSO READ: As Raje Govt Completes 4 Years, Sachin Pilot Inaugurates Congress Countdown Clock

When a question regarding the CM face of Congress, Ashok Gehlot said, "Since Independence, it has been the tradition of Congress party not to name the CM face in states. We are proudly carrying forward that legacy."

While Pilot, a former MP and Union Minister, will be contesting the assembly polls for the first time, Gehlot has been the Chief Minister twice.

It is learnt that a section in the party believed that both leaders should stay out of the contest and focus on campaigning across the state as they are seen as crowd-pullers.

Another section felt both should contest Ashok Gehlot from his seat Sardarpura and Sachin Pilot from a seat in Ajmer his old parliamentary constituency - or Dausa, from where his father was an MP.

This morning, in a significant boost for the Congress, the BJP parliamentarian from Dausa, Harish Meena, quit his party and joined the Congress.

The Congress in Rajasthan is believed to be deeply divided between factions loyal to Ashok Gehlot and Sachin Pilot.


Leave a comment

Most Recent