NCP Brings Another Blow For Congress, Party Not Sure Who To Support In Rajya Sabha

न्यूज़ वर्ल्ड इंडिया | 0
| August 7 , 2017 , 12:16 IST

In another blow to the Congress Party, after six of their leaders quit the party prior to Rajya Sabha elections, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leader Praful Patel has raised uncertainties saying that his party has not yet decided who to support in the upcoming Rajya Sabha election on Tuesday.

The NCP, led by Sharad Pawar, which aligned itself with the Congress Party back in 2012, currently has two legislators in the upper house - Kandhal Jadeja and Jayant Patel.

Addressing the media in Anand, NCP leader Praful Patel said, "Though the NCP was part of the previous Congress-led UPA (United Progressive Alliance) government at the Centre, there is no such alliance at present. Though we are a small party with only two MLAs, we have suddenly become important and people are now searching for these two legislators."

He said that the decision to support any party in the Rajya Sabha election on Tuesday will be taken in the consultation of party chief Sharad Pawar.

ALSO READ: Gujarat MLAs Return From Bengaluru, Camped Away In Another Resort

Gujarat currently has three vacancies in its Rajya Sabha, the Bharatiya Janata Party has coined their National President for the vacancy along with Union Minister Smriti Irani while the Congress is pushing for Ahmed Patel.

When asked about camping Congress MLAs in Bengaluru resort, Mr Patel said, "Usually, Rajya Sabha MPs used to get elected unopposed. It is just because of the Congress that a contest is taking place this time. 14 of their MLAs have either left the party or have made up their mind not to vote for the Congress candidate."

Earlier, six Congress leaders had quit the party before the Rajya Sabha election after which the Congress high command has ordered to lock away 44 of its legislators in a resort in Bengaluru to avoid losing any more leaders to poaching from the Bharatiya Janata Party.

ALSO READ: IT Raids Recover Rs 5 Crore From DK Shivakumar, Responsible For Security Of Gujarat MLAs