Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Akhilesh Yadav To Contest From Azamgarh Seat, Azam Khan From Rampur

News World India | 0
| March 24 , 2019 , 12:12 IST

The Samajwadi Party today announced that its chief Akhilesh Yadav will contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections from Azamgarh, while Azam Khan will contest from Rampur.

Akhilesh’s father Mulayam Singh Yadav is the sitting MP from Azamgarh. Azam Khan is the sitting MLA from Rampur.

The party also put out its list of star campaigners, which surprisingly did not feature SP patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav.

Among the more prominent names, that figure in the list is the Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav, Ram Gopal Yadav, Azam Khan, Jaya Bachchan, Dimple Yadav, Tej Pratap Yadav. Mulayam Singh Yadav will now contest from Mainpuri, from where he had won in 2014 but had later resigned.

ALSO READ: Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Samajwadi Party's First List Out, Mulayam Singh Yadav To Contest From Mainpuri Seat

This is the first time Akhilesh Yadav is contesting from a constituency in eastern UP. In the 2009 general election, he scored his third Lok Sabha election win from Kannauj. He vacated the seat after he became the chief minister in 2012. His wife Dimple Yadav, who is the current parliamentarian, will contest from the constituency.