It's Official: Ram Nath Kovind To Be The 14th President Of India

न्यूज़ वर्ल्ड इंडिया | 0
| July 20 , 2017 , 17:40 IST

NDA-nominated presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind will now officially be the 14th President of India as he won by over 65 percent votes as the voting counting took place on Thursday. Meira Kumar meanwhile secured 34.35 percent votes.

Kovind has won 7,02,044 votes.

ALSO READ: Ram Nath Kovind Flashback: Words And Speeches Of The NDA Presidential Candidate

The counting had begun at 11 AM and is expected to complete by 5 PM. The counting began by opening the ballot box of the Parliament House, after which ballot boxes received from the states would be counted in alphabetical order.

A total of 4,896 voters - 4,120 MLAs and 776 elected MPs - were eligible to cast their ballot. MLCs of states with the legislative council are not part of the electoral college.

While the value of an MLA's vote depends on the population of the state he or she belongs to, the value of an MP's vote remains the same at 708.

ALSO READ: All That You Need To Know About Ram Nath Kovind

Ahead of the elections, former Bihar governor Ram Nath Kovind, the presidential candidate for the BJP-led central government, received massive support from the various parties. Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, a part of the Opposition, also gave his support for the NDA candidate instead of the Opposition's candidate, former Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar.

As both presidential candidates belong to a Dalit background, the election has been touted as being Dalit vs Dalit, however, Kumar has maintained that the election is a 'battle of ideologies'.

Outgoing President Pranab Mukherjee will complete his last day on July 24 and former Bihar Governor will take over the new role from July 25.

An official announcement has also been made, confirming that Kovind has won the Presidential elections, defeating opposition candidate Meira Kumar.