No Post Found HD Kumaraswamy Swearing-In As Karnataka CM Today, BJP Marks 'Anti People's Mandate Day' | समाचार । विश्लेषण। विचार। ख़ास रिपोर्ट


HD Kumaraswamy Takes Oath As Karnataka CM, G Parameshwara Deputy CM

News World India | 0
| May 23 , 2018 , 14:15 IST

JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy took oath as Karnataka Chief Minister on Wednesday, along with Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) President G. Parameshwara who took oath as the deputy CM.

Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Andhra Pradesh CM Chandrababu Naidu, West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee, Kerala CM Pinarai Vijayan, BSP Supremo Mayawati, Samajwadi Party's Akhilesh Yadav, RJD leader Tejashvi Yadav, JMM leader Hemant Soren, CPI(M) leader Sitaram Yechury and RLD leader Ajit Singh attended the swearing-in. As the swearing-in concluded, all these leaders joined together for a show of strength which is being speculated as the forging of an opposition unity ahead of the 2019 polls.

Terming the Congress and JD(S) coming together post-polls as an 'unholy alliance' BJP is marking the day as “Anti People’s Mandate Day” since BJP had been the single largest party in the Karnataka elections, but the Congress-JD(S) combine had more than the majority of the votes.

“The Congress and JDS hijacked the people's mandate and entered into an unholy alliance. On the day this unholy coalition government takes office, that is tomorrow, Wednesday, 23.5.2018, the BJP has decided to observe this day as "Anti People's Mandate Day," an official release from the party stated on Tuesday.

ALSO READ: Congress To Get Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister Post At Swearing-In Of JDS

Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala had on May 19 invited Kumaraswamy, the CM-elect of Congress- JD(S), to form the government in the state, after BJP's BS Yeddyurappa stepped down from the post of Karnataka CM ahead of the floor test, one day after being sworn-in as CM.

Kumaraswamy was initially expected to take the oath on Monday, but the ceremony was delayed since May 21 is the death anniversary of former prime minister Rajiv Gandhi. The remaining Karnataka cabinet would be sworn-in after the floor test for the Congress- JD(S)alliance on Thursday.

22 Ministers in the Karnataka Cabinet would be from the Congress and 12 ministers would be from JD(S). The Speaker of Karnataka's Vidhana Soudha would be Congress' KR Ramesh Kumar, while the deputy speaker will be appointed from the JD(S).


Leave a comment

Most Recent