Vice Presidential Poll: Gopalkrishna Gandhi Vs M Venkaiah Naidu

न्यूज़ वर्ल्ड इंडिया | 0
| August 4 , 2017 , 15:10 IST

As the vice-presidential poll approaches, the members of the Parliament are gearing up under the anticipation of NDA candidate M Venkaiah Naidu tipping to be the next Vice President of India.

By Saturday evening, the name of the next Indian vice president would have been announced contested between NDA candidate Venkaiah Naidu and opposition candidate Gopalkrishna Gandhi.

While the opposition has fielded Gopalkrishna Gandhi against Naidu, the ruling NDA, having the majority in the Lok Sabha, will find it easy to place its candidate as the next vice president.

The JD(U) which is in an alliance with the BJP, that earlier supported the NDA nominee Ramnath Kovind for president, has decided to back opposition nominee Gandhi. Though the JD(U) has broken ties with 'mahagathbandhan' and joined hands with the BJP to form a new government in Bihar, it has decided to vote for Gandhi, a former governor of West Bengal.

ALSO READ: For The First Time, BJP Becomes Largest Party In Rajya Sabha, Bypassing Congress

According to the election commission's directions, the members of Parliament will use special pens for marking their choice in the election to be held between 10 am and 5 pm. The EC officials said that counting of votes will commence after polling and the results will be declared by 7.00 pm.

Since the election is through a secret ballot, the political parties cannot issue a whip for attracting votes.

The term of the present incumbent Hamid Ansari, who has held the post for two consecutive terms, is coming to an end on August 10.

The electoral college which elects the vice president, who is also the ex-officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha, consists of elected and nominated members of Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha.

The total strength of the two Houses is 790, but there are two vacancies in the Lok Sabha and one in the Rajya Sabha.

ALSO READ: PM Modi's Emotional Letter To Pranab Mukherjee Touched His Heart

BJP MP in Lok Sabha Chhedi Paswan is barred from casting vote following a judicial pronouncement.

In the 545-member Lok Sabha, the BJP has 281 members. The NDA led by BJP has 338 members. In the 243-member Rajya Sabha, the BJP as of now has 56 members, while the Congress with 59 is the single largest party. With its recent wins in the recent assembly polls, the BJP is set to emerge as the single largest party in the Rajya Sabha too next year and the NDA's tally would be close to 100.

It would, however, still be short of a majority in the upper house. The one who bags 50 percent plus one vote of the total valid votes cast will win the poll.