Election Commission To Announce Schedule For The Lok Sabha Polls At 5pm Today

News World India | 0
| March 10 , 2019 , 13:47 IST

The Election Commission to hold a press conference to announce the schedule for the Lok Sabha polls at 5 pm today. 

The elections will be held for 543 seats of the Lok Sabha on approximately 10 lakh polling booths across the country. The tenure of the current Lok Sabha ends on June 3.

The Lok Sabha elections are expected to be held in seven to nine phases.

Sources told that unlike the 2014 general election when polling was spread over 9 phases, there will be fewer phases this time.

The schedule - which will cover polls to the Lok Sabha, state assemblies of Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh for sure, though there remains a question mark on simultaneous assembly poll in J&K — will be announced by chief election commissioner Sunil Arora and election commissioners Ashok Lavasa and Sushil Chandra at a press conference in Vigyan Bhavan.

Polling is expected to be held in April and May, with results likely to be declared in the third week of April and May, with results likely to be declared in the third week of May.

Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik in an election rally in Kendrapara announces 33% quota for women in the allocation of Lok Sabha seats for the BJD party.

ALSO READ: PM Modi Attends 50th Raising Day Of CISF In Ghaziabad; Pays Tribute To The Brave Martyrs

The term of the current Lok Sabha expires on June 3. The poll announcement will set in motion a highly-anticipated political contest which is shaping up to be a “Modi versus Rest” showdown.

In 2014, the Lok Sabha polling was held on nine days between April 7 and May 12. The votes were counted on May 16, completing the entire process in 72 days as compared to 75 in 2009.

In 2014 polls published ahead of Lok Sabha polls that year, there were a total of 81.45 crore voters enrolled at the time of announcement but the final figure, including service voters, stood higher at 83.4 crores.