Congress Releases Ninth List Of 10 Candidates For Lok Sabha Polls

न्यूज़ वर्ल्ड इंडिया | 0
| March 24 , 2019 , 18:41 IST

The Congress released its ninth list of 10 candidates for the upcoming general election on Sunday. Son of former finance minister P Chidambaram, Karti Chidambaram will contest from Sivaganga in Tamil Nadu.

The ninth list has four names from Maharashtra, three from Bihar and one each from Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka and Tamil Nadu. Former NCP leader Tariq Anwar, who joined the Congress in 2018, is fielded from Bihar's Katihar seat. He won this seat in 2014 on an NCP ticket.

In Maharashtra's Chandrapur seat the party has replaced Vinayak Bangade with Suresh Dhanorkar.

According to multiple sources, Karti Chidambaram had been pushing for Sivaganga constituency after top leadership's initial reluctance.

Former NCP leader Tariq Anwar was nominated by the party for the Katihar Lok Sabha seat in Bihar, which he currently represents.

The party also fielded its former general secretary B K Hari Prasad from the Bangalore South constituency in Karnataka.

ALSO READ:Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Haryanvi Artiste Sapna Choudhary Denies Joining Congress Party

The others whose names have been cleared by the party's central election committee include Mohammed Javed from Kishangan and Uday Singh alias Pappu Singh from Purnia in Bihar and Haji Farooq Mir from Baramulla in Jammu and Kashmir.

However, the Congress replaced its candidate from Chandrapur in Maharashtra and fielded Suresh Dhanorkar, in place of Vinayak Bangade.