Congress' Ramesh Kumar Elected As Karnataka Assembly Speaker

न्यूज़ वर्ल्ड इंडिया | 0
| May 25 , 2018 , 16:21 IST

Congress' K R Ramesh Kumar was today elected as the Speaker of the Karnataka Assembly, as BJP candidate Suresh Kumar filed his nomination papers before Assembly Secretary S Murthy at Vidhana Soudha, the seat of the state legislature.

Before the start of the proceedings, Suresh Kumar said he was withdrawing his nomination following a direction from the state unit chief B S Yeddyurappa and other leaders.

He said “Based on the strength of numbers and various other factors, our party leaders have confidence that I will win. With that confidence, I have filed my nomination”.

ALSO READ: HD Kumaraswamy Takes Oath As Karnataka CM, G Parameshwara Deputy CM

It was an apparent indication by the BJP that it wanted to give the JD(S)-Congress coalition a run for its money in the race for speakership before Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy faced the floor test

The two BJP MLAs C N Ashwathnarayan and Sunil Kumar accompanied Suresh Kumar while filing the nomination.

When the pro-team speaker K G Bopaiah took up the matter in the house, then BJP's Sunil Kumar stood up and said he was not moving the motion proposing Suresh Kumar for the Speaker's post. Suresh Kumar then said, "I accept it."