C P Joshi Becomes The New Speaker Of The 15th Rajasthan Legislative Assembly

News World India | 0
| January 16 , 2019 , 17:50 IST

Former Union minister C P Joshi on Wednesday was elected unopposed the speaker of the 15th Rajasthan Legislative Assembly on Wednesday.

Senior Congress and MLA from Nathdwara Joshi was named for the post by the party's top leadership. He took over the chair relieving the Protem Speaker G C Kataria after the House passed the motion moved for his election by a voice vote.

It is learnt that C P Joshi, one-time close to the UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi as AICC general secretary, was the MP from Bhilwara in the 15th Lok Sabha, and had served as the Union Minister for Road Transport and Highways and Panchayati Raj from 2009 to 2013.

ALSO READ: Ashok Gehlot Named As Chief Minister Of Rajasthan, Sachin Pilot To Be Deputy CM

He also worked in Ashok Gehlot's first term as Education Minister in Rajasthan but lost the Nathdwara seat by one vote when Gehlot formed the government for the second term.

Congress MLA Mahesh Joshi is appointed as Chief Whip of the party, while Mahendra Choudhary is now Deputy Chief Whip.

Addressing the house after taking charge as speaker the former Union minister said that every member will be given chance to raise people's voice under the rules and regulations. He also appealed assembly members to optimally utilize the time of the house. The first session of the assembly has begun on Tuesday.