BJP To Announce First List Of Candidates Today, May Replace Shatrughan Sinha With RS Prasad

News World India | 0
| March 17 , 2019 , 12:06 IST

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is likely to release its first list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections on Sunday. There are speculations of party dropping sitting MP Shatrughan Sinha from Patna Sahib and he is likely to be replaced by Union minister Ravi Shankar Prasad.

Senior party leaders on Saturday deliberated on finalising the names of candidates for the upcoming polls, particularly for constituencies where polling will be held in the first phase.

The names were discussed at the committee meeting which was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party chief Amit Shah. Sources said the discussion was held on seats in Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Telangana, Uttarakhand, and the seven northeastern states.

Sinha, 72, has often parried questions on his future course of action. In recent months, he has been seen with opposition leaders, he recently met RJD chief Lalu Yadav's family and also attended West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee's mega opposition rally in January, representing former BJP leader Yashwant Sinha's newly-formed party.

ALSO READ: Leaders Shift From One Political Party To Another Preps Nation For Thrilling Lok Sabha Elections 2019

The saffron party has decided to field Giriraj Singh from Begusarai. Singh had won in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections from Nawada but this time the seat was given to Ram Vilas Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party.

Among those who were vying for tickets but are likely to be snubbed by the party is Shahnawaz Hussain, BJP's Muslim face in Bihar. Hussain contested 2014 Lok Sabha polls from Bhagalpur, a seat which has a substantial Muslim population. This seat has gone into JD(U)'s quota.