No Post Found BJP Suffers Losses In Bypolls Amidst United Opposition: View Full List Of Winners | समाचार । विश्लेषण। विचार। ख़ास रिपोर्ट


BJP Suffers Massive Losses In Bypolls Amidst United Opposition: View Full List Of Winners

News World India | 0
| May 31 , 2018 , 15:25 IST

BJP may be ruling at the Centre and have governments in more than 20 states across India, but continuing with its pattern, the saffron party suffered many losses in the bypoll results the counting of which took place on Thursday.

From the 14 bypolls, including 4 Lok Sabha seats and 10 assembly seats, BJP won only 1 Lok Sabha seat, that of Palghar in Maharashtra and Tharali in Uttarakhand. In comparison, Congress won 3 seats outright, and while Opposition parties also secured victories.

Lok Sabha Seats

Kairana in Uttar Pradesh

RLD candidate Tabassum Begum backed by the Samajwadi Party, Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party and the Congress won the Lok Sabha seat, beating BJP candidate Mriganka Singh.         

Bhandara-Gondiya In Maharashtra

The NCP candidate Kukade Madhukrao Yashawantrao won Maharashtra's Bhandara-Gondiya Lok Sabha seat, beating BJP candidate Hemant (Tanubhau) Patle.

Palghar in Maharashtra

BJP candidate Rajendra Gavit won the Palghar Lok Sabha seat defeating ally Shiv Sena's candidate Shrinivas Wanaga. The Palghar seat had fallen vacant after the death of BJP candidate Chintaman Wanaga.


In Nagaland, the NDPP candidate Tokheho is leading with 5.19 lakh votes, as compared to NPF candidate C Apok Jamir with 3.65 lakh votes.

Assembly Seats

Palus Kadegaon in Mahrashtra

Congress candidate Vishwajeet Patangrao Kadam has been elected unopposed from Maharashtra's Palus Kadegaon Assembly constituency.

Noorpur in Uttar Pradesh

Samajwadi Party candidate Naim Ul Hasan won the Noorpur assembly seat, beating BJP candidate Avnish Singh.

Jokihat In Bihar

In Bihar's Jokihat seat, RJD candidate Shahnawaz Alam emerged winner, beating JD(U) candidate Murshid Alam by over 41,000 votes.

Gomia in Jharkhand

JMM candidate Babita Devi wins the Gomia seat in Jharkhand, beating BJP candidate Madhav Lal Singh.

Silli in Jharkhand

JMM candidate Seema Devi wins the Silli seat in Jharkhand, beating AJSUP candidate Sudesh Kumar Mahto.

Chengannur in Kerala

In Kerala's Chengannur, CPM candidate Saji Cheriyan won with 57,407 votes, beating Congress candidate D Vijayakumar who had 41,041 votes and BJP candidate P S Sreedharan Pillai came in third with 30,350 votes.

Ampati in Meghalaya

Congress candidate Miani D Shira, daughter of Former CM and Congress leader Mukul Sangma won the Ampati seat in Meghalaya, beating NPP candidate Clement G Momin.

Shahkot in Punjab

Congress candidate Hardev Singh Ladi won the Shahkot assembly bypoll seat in Punjab, beating SAD candidate Naib Singh Kohar.

Tharali in Uttarakhand

In Uttarakhand's Tharali, BJP candidate Munni Devi Shah won the assembly bypoll seat, defeating Congress rival Jeet Ram.

Maheshtala in West Bengal

Ruling TMC party candidate Dulal Chandra Das won the Maheshtala assembly seat bypoll in West Bengal, beating CPM candidate Pravat Chowdhury and BJP's  Sujit Kumar Ghosh.


Leave a comment

Most Recent