Bihar CM Nitish Kumar Wins Floor Test With 131 MLAs In Favour, 108 Against

न्यूज़ वर्ल्ड इंडिया | 0
| July 28 , 2017 , 14:25 IST

In a major victory, Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar won the floor test conducted on Friday where he proved his majority with his new ally the BJP. In the trust vote, CM Nitish secured 131 votes in favour and 108 votes against, winning by a clear majority.

Anticipating that the JDU-BJP government had adequate support to win the floor test, RJD member protested inside and outside of the house, however contrary to fears no cross-voting took place during the trust vote.

ALSO READ: My Decision Is In Bihar's Best Interest: Nitish Kumar

RJD accused Nitish Kumar of insulting the mandate of 2015 by joining hands with the BJP and dumping its 'Grand Alliance' allies RJD and the Congress which made him the Chief Minister.

In response, Nitish said that the 2015 alliance called for 'janta ki sewa' (serving people) adding that "the mandate was for governance."

Former Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav, now the Leader of Opposition, said that voters had been stabbed in the back.

"People who voted for the Grand Alliance are being betrayed. Nitish Kumar got the mandate against the BJP but joined hands with it to form the government," he said.

ALSO READ: Bihar Upheaval: Nitish Kumar's Former And Current Allies Take To Twitter

Tejashwi claimed that Nitish Kumar had insulted the people of Bihar by joining hands with the BJP.

"We will go to the people to expose Nitish Kumar's doublespeak and hypocrisy."

Before the floor test, JD-U and the BJP had issued whips to their legislators to support Nitish Kumar during the confidence vote, and RJD and Congress had issued similar whips to their lawmakers.

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar who was sworn-in on Thursday for the 6th time with the support of BJP, along with new deputy CM Sushil Modi, was called for the floor test on Friday to prove his majority after resigning from the ruling RJD-Congress Grand Alliance on Wednesday.

ALSO READ: Nitish Kumar Takes Oath As Bihar CM, Sushil Modi Becomes Deputy CM

The resignation of CM Nitish Kumar from the Grand Alliance came suddenly on Wednesday evening and the very next morning he was again sworn-in claiming the support of 132 MLAs, including 71 of JD(U), 53 of BJP, 2 MLAs each of NDA allies LJP and RLSP and 1 MLA of HAM-S.

The new coalition formed with BJP and its allies crosses the midway mark of 122 MLAs from the total 243-member Bihar Assembly. In comparison, RJD which had been protesting that they should have the option of forming the government since they are the single largest party in the state has a total of 110 MLAs along with the Congress and CPI (ML).

Derik Anthony

WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION (WHO) is urgently in need for kidney donors/sales with any passports require. Any interested donor should contact info below. Whatsapp #: +1 940-603-3479 Email: