After Gujarat RS Win, Congress Expels 14 Rebel MLAs For 'Anti-Party Activities'

न्यूज़ वर्ल्ड इंडिया | 0
| August 10 , 2017 , 07:27 IST

As senior Congress leader Ahmed Patel won the Rajya Sabha election in Gujarat scrapping bare minimum votes, the party has expelled 14 rebel MLAs for 6 years for anti-party activities. The expelled include former Chief Minister Shankersinh Vaghela whose departure from Congress led to the defection of 6 other Gujarat Congress MLAs.

"The party has expelled all eight rebel MLAs, including Shankersinh Vaghela, who cross-voted against Ahmed bhai, defying the party whip," Gujarat Congress spokesperson Manish Doshi said.

"We have also initiated similar action against six other legislators who resigned earlier after the party had issued a whip to all MLAs to vote for the official nominee in the Rajya Sabha elections," he said.

ALSO READ:Ahmed Patel Deals Severe Blow To BJP, Wins RS poll

"We will now initiate legal proceedings against all of them to ensure that they are not able to fight Assembly polls for the next six years," Doshi added, stating that defying the party whip invites disqualification from contesting any election.

Apart from Vaghela, the other expelled legislators include his son Mahendrasinh, loyalists Raghavji Patel, Bholabhai Gohil, Anand Chaudhary, C.K. Raulji and Dharmendrasinh Jadeja.

After victory, Ahmed Patel, the political secretary of Congress President Sonia Gandhi,  met with the 43 legislators who had voted for him and called on the party unit to gear up for the December assembly elections in the state with a target of winning 125 seats from the total 182.

Patel encouraged all the legislators to visit Tirupati Balaji temple to seek blessings for the victory and take a vow to bag 125 seats in the forthcoming Assembly elections.

ALSO READ: Congress Should Remember Ahmed Patel Won Because Of 1 Vote Of NCP: Majid Memon

Asserting that his Rajya Sabha seat victory in Gujarat had pepped up the party's ranks, Patel said "we will fight the assembly elections with all aggression and ensure their (BJP's) defeat 100 per cent."

A spirited state President Bharatsinh Solanki said: "The victory in Rajya Sabha elections will go a big way to boost our morale. Ahmedbhai will play a crucial role (in the assembly polls)."

For the total 3 vacant Gujarat Rajya Sabha seats, 2 were won by BJP leaders Amit Shah and Smriti Irani while the third was secured by Ahmed Patel with a slender margin.