Uttarakhand’s Nine Rebel Congress MLAs Join BJP

| } May 18 , 2016 , 21:06 IST
uttarakhandNine rebel Congress legislators of Uttarakhand, including former Chief Minister Vijay Bahuguna on Wednesday joined Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Last week, all 9 rebels held a round of discussion with the BJP chief Amit Shah at his residence in New Delhi after which Former Uttarakhand minister Harak Singh Rawat said, "All of us are joining the party without any conditions and will work for the forthcoming rally of Amit Shah in Dehradun, which is scheduled for next month." According to reports, rebel's decision has received a mixed response from other leaders of the saffron party in the state. While one section claimed it would bolster their ranks, others thought that not much would change on the ground. On March 18, these legislators had staked claim with the BJP to form government in the state. They made the decision after a Finance Bill was passed in the House. The situation caused the imposition of President's rule in the state and disqualification of all these 9 legislators. However, On May 10, Harish Rawat was again declared as the Chief Minister of the state after he proved his majority at the floor test in the assembly.