Trivendra Singh Rawat Will Be The Next Uttarakhand CM, To Take Oath On March 18

News World India | 0
| } March 17 , 2017 , 15:36 IST
[caption id="attachment_251060" align="aligncenter" width="700"]New Uttarakhand CM Trivendra Singh Rawat New Uttarakhand CM Trivendra Singh Rawat[/caption] Trivendra Singh Rawat was on Friday formally elected leader of the BJP Legislature Party in Uttarakhand. He will take oath as Chief Minister on March 18. "Trivendra Singh Rawat was elected leader of the BJP Legislature Party. His name was proposed by Satpal Maharaj and Prakash Pant. The proposal was accepted unanimously," Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar told the media. Also Read: Amit Shah To Announce Uttarakhand CM Today After BJP Legislature Party Meeting Tomar said that the BJP legislators, headed by Rawat, would meet Governor Krishan Kant Paul and stake claim to form the new government in the state. BJP's National Vice-President and Uttarakhand in-charge Shyam Jaju said that oath-taking ceremony would take place on Saturday. He said that Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah would attend the oath-taking ceremony. Rawat, an organisational man of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Uttarakhand and party in-charge in Jharkhand, won his traditional Doiwala seat by defeating Congress' Hira Singh Bisht by over 24,000 votes. Rawat, a Swayamsewak of the Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh (RSS), is considered close to BJP President Amit Shah. Rawat was in close touch with Prime Minister Narendra Modi when the latter was a General Secretary of the BJP and in charge of Uttarakhand. Also Read: Amit Shah To Decide CMs For UP, Uttarakhand, Manipur Based On Reviews From ‘Central Obeservers’ During the 2014 Lok Sabha election, Rawat was attached with Amit Shah in Uttar Pradesh where the BJP swept all but seven seats. He is also credited with the BJP's win in Jharkhand. The newly elected BJP legislators in Uttarakhand would meet on Friday evening in Dehradun to elect their leader in the presence of central observers Saroj Pandey and Narendra Tomar. Also Read: BJP Parliamentary Board To Discuss Probable CMs For UP, Uttarakhand Today Uttarakhand BJP chief Ajay Bhatt has said the oath taking event has been fixed for 3 p.m. on Saturday. All the 57 newly elected legislators of the BJP have been asked to come to the state capital. The BJP has swept back to power in the hill state after five years, that too with a landslide majority. Modi and Amit Shah along with select central ministers and senior BJP leaders are likely to be present at the oath taking. Security arrangements are being made at the Parade Grounds, keeping in mind the VVIPs who will attend, an official told IANS. Besides Rawat, Satpal Maharaj and Prakash Pant were in the race for the Chief Minister's post.