Jitu Vaghani Appointed As New BJP State President For Gujarat

| } August 10 , 2016 , 14:42 IST
Jitu BJP National President Amit Shah on Wednesday has announced Jitu Vaghani as the new BJP State President for Gujarat. The BJP was confused over whether to have a Patidar party president - after the appointment of a Jain, Vijay Rupani as CM and senior Patidar leader Nitin Patel as deputy CM - or whether to appoint an OBC leader, Kshatriya or tribal leader as state unit president. With the CM appointed being from Saurashtra and deputy CM from North Gujarat, the BJP was considering picking its state unit president from south or central Gujarat. The most talked-about names for the post were education minister Bhupendrasinh Chudasama, party vice president I K Jadeja, Union ministers Parshottam Rupala and Mansukh Mandaviya, former Union minister Mohan Kundariya, general secretary Bhikhubhai Dalsaniya, vice president Kaushik Patel, general secretary K C Patel, OBC leader and vice President Jaysinh Chauhan, junior minister Shankar Chaudhary and general secretary Shabdasaran Brahmbhatt.

Most Recent