AIADMK MLAs To Elect Jayalalithaa As Leader Today, Swearing-In On May 23

| } May 20 , 2016 , 10:24 IST
JayalalithaaBreaking a three decades long jinx in Tamil Nadu assembly elections, Jayalalithaa on Thursday guided her party to retain power as it won 134 seats in a showdown with arch rival DMK which though put up a spirited fight to emerge a strong opposition. The party's Legislature Party meeting will held on Friday, while AIADMK supremo likely to take oath on May 23. She is all set to be elected as leader of the Legislature Party in the meet, setting the stage for her to be sworn in as the Tamil Nadu Chief Minister for the sixth time. Belying exit and pre-poll surveys, she became the first chief minister to bag a successive term in office since 1989, albeit with a reduced majority compared to 150 seats the AIADMK had won in 2011. The third front, which had created high expectations in view of six parties coming together and taking on the Dravidian majors, was rejected in toto by the voters. Pataali Makkal Katchi (PMK) and BJP also drew a blank as the fight turned out to be between AIADMK and DMK, which on its own secured 89 seats, also a first for any opposition. DMK's allies Congress won eight seats while IUML one. AIADMK garnered 40.8 per cent of the vote while the DMK secured 31.6 and its allies Congress and IUML 6.4 per cent and 0.7 per cent.