Cricket

Not Guilty, Pleads Dinesh Chandimal To Ball-Tampering Allegations

AASTHA SINGAL | 0
6365
| June 18 , 2018 , 18:39 IST

A day after being accused of 'sweet in pocket' ball-tampering during the ongoing second Test against the West Indies, Sri Lankan skipper Dinesh Chandimal denied the allegations. He will face a hearing at the Test's conclusion, the International Cricket Council (ICC) said on Monday.

"Dinesh Chandimal has pleaded not guilty to breaching Article 2.2.9 of the ICC Code of Conduct and, as such, Javagal Srinath of the Panel of ICC Match Referees will hold a hearing following the conclusion of the St Lucia Test against the Windies," said an ICC statement.

Chandimal was charged by the match officials after a television footage surfaced from the final session’s play on Friday showcasing the captain taking sweets out from his left pocket before putting them in his mouth and applying the artificial substance to the ball.

ALSO READ: Sri Lankan Skipper Dinesh Chandimal Booked For Ball Tampering

While the umpires viewed it as an attempt to change ball's condition, ICC confirmed a charge of "altering the condition of the ball" i.e., ball tampering against Chandimal. If the player found guilty during the hearing on Monday, he could be suspended from the third and final Test of the series.

After the controversial day three of the second Test between Sri Lanka and West Indies, day four witnessed the former racing into a substantial 287-run lead on Sunday despite the two hours delay in the match as Sri Lankan captain refused to lead his team onto the field. West Indies had won the first test of the three-match series by 226 runs.

In the meanwhile, ICC's cricket committee has recommended increasing the punishment for ball tampering to a ban of four Tests or eight one-day internationals, though the suggestion has yet to be ratified. The recent case of ball-tampering by Cameron Bancroft and Steve Smith cost them an entire year of International cricket, courtesy Cricket Australia.